Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Seriously?! … Yes!  Its sooo good!  Balsamic vinegar has the ability to tie sweet flavor together with savory.  Balsamic reductions tend to be a bit more syrupy and sweeter and are often paired with strawberries.  In this case I used a blueberry infused balsamic vinegar.  My sister actually gave it to me on my wedding day! (Check out theoliveoilshops.com)  It’s so delicious and great for bread dipping.  Just splash some on a plate with a nice olive oil and dip some toasted bread in it!  My husband and I bought a fig and anise loaf, to do just this, and all I have to say is… wow!  So why not combine this flavor profile with a true comfort food like grilled cheese?!  Thats what I was thinking!

Strawberry Balsamic Grilled Cheese

2 slices bread (texas toast style is what I used)

1/2 tbsp butter (softened)

pinch of garlic powder

balsamic vinegar

chopped red onion

1 large strawberry (thinly sliced)

2 slices pepperjack cheese

Butter one side of each piece of bread and sprinkle that side with a pinch of garlic powder.  On the other side, drizzle the balsamic vinegar.  Layer 1 piece of pepperjack, strawberrries, onions, then the other piece of pepperjack, inside the sandwich.  Grill both sides of the sandwich on a skillet over medium heat.  Cover so that the cheese can melt and get all gooey.  Remove when the bread is toasty and golden brown and the cheese is soft and melted.  Slice and enjoy!

