Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Tilapia is a mild fish that takes on flavor like a champ.  Almond crusting is one of my favorite things to do with it.  I told my husband what we were having for dinner and I asked him what kind of sauce he thought would go well with the fish.  Like I have said before, I think sometimes he  suggests things, just to see it I will do it.  This time he suggested a banana sauce!  I never back down from a culinary challange, so the White Wine Banana Cream was born!  I knew the fish could handle a sweet/savory sauce.  I’ve made it (almond crusted) with a coconut curry, and it was delicious.  The key is to tie the flavors together with spice.  In this case, cayenne, nutmeg, and cardamom.

Almond Crusted Tilapia

2-4 tilapia filets

1/2 cup raw almonds

sea salt

cayenne pepper

olive oil

Blot the tilapia filets with a paper towel.  Season with salt and cayenne.  Pulse the almonds in a food processor till they are almost a powdery consistancy.  Pour the almond crumbs ona plate and press both sides of the fish into the crumbs to evenly coat.  Prepare a skillet over medium high heat.  Add enough olive oil to coat the bottom.  When the oil is heated, add the fish gently, and cook 1-2 minutes on each side.  The fish doesn’t take long to cook, so you may want to prep them, and wait to cook them until your ready!

White Wine Banana Cream

1/2 banana (cut into chuncks)

1/4 cup white wine

3 tbsp sour cream

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper

1/8 tsp cardamom

1 tbsp melted butter

salt

Heat the bananas and butter in a skillet, over medium high heat.  Once they start to soften and brown, pour in the wine and let it cook till most of the liquid is absorbed.  Transfer to a food processor and add the remaining ingredients.  Blend till smooth and creamy.  Generously top the prepared fish with the cream! If you want a thinner consistancy, substitute 1 tbsp of the sour cream, for 1 tbsp of milk.

