My husband and I decided to take a rather ambitious trip back east.  Our family lives in Southern Ohio/West Virginia, and a friend (that just so happened to catch the bouquet at our wedding) was getting married in South Carolina.  So we flew from San Diego, CA to Columbus, OH, on a red eye, and then made our 14 hour drive to Myrtle Beach, SC.  In total we  traveled, non stop, 24 hours.  We arrived at my sister’s house, Friday night, and crashed.  Totally jet lagged, we woke up Saturday morning and got ready for the wedding!  We had some down time after the ceremony, and before the reception, so we decided to hit up the “Love Shack” at the Marsh Walk.  It was St. Patrick’s Day, so we had to have a few drinks to get the party started!  At the reception we enjoyed beer, wine, and cake.  I enjoyed my cake a little too much, and started eating off someone else’s plate!  Ha Ha!  Maybe that means that I enjoyed the wine a little too much!  After the wedding festivities came to an end, the St. Patrick’s Day festivities continued!  We made our way to a local bar, ordered a bunch of fried food and Guinness beer.  A great combination, if you ask me!  Lots of fun with my sisters and their significant others!  Little did I know about the headache that I would suffer in the morning!

The next morning greeted me with a moderate hangover.  We had planned to drive from Myrtle Beach to Charleston.  My sister and I used to live in Charleston, and we just loved it there.  It has a real southern charm.  After the 2 hour drive, a few ibuprofen, coffee, and water, my headache subsided and I was jazzed to explore Charleston!  After lunch we ventured downtown and found a little place called “Caviar and Bananas” (caviarandbananas.com).  They have specialty drinks, (we enjoyed a salted caramel bacon latte), deli items, sushi, artisan cheeses, olive oils, unique candies and so much more.  12 layer eggplant parmesan and loaded baked potato mac and cheese caught my eye as well!  I definitely recommend stopping in, if your in the neighborhood!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As the afternoon showers began, we took shelter in “the market” and browsed the all the vendors.  Art, jewelry, local food and spices, treasures and knick-knacks galore.  Such a cool place to wander around in.  Right around the corner is “Squeeze” a great martini bar worth mentioning.  Then we walked the gas lamp lined streets and through the Charleston Place hotel.  Gorgeous architecture, chandelier lit staircases, swanky hotel bars, and  high class stores like Louis Vuitton, and Gucci.  Of course we couldn’t leave without grabbing some boiled peanuts for road.  A local favorite.  A quick drive through Sullivan’s Island to gaze at the beautiful beach homes, and then we were back on our way to Myrtle Beach for sushi!

Back in Myrtle Beach we met up with my sister’s husband at King Kong Sushi, their local favorite.  We ordered 5 of their specialty rolls, under advise from my sister and her husband.  (From left to right) The Santo Roll: Tuna, Salmon, tempura fried asparagas, avocado, and cream cheese.  Fish roe on the outside with a peach yogurt sauce and crushed almonds.  This roll was amazing!  The flavor combination was out of this world!  The Tuna Sandwich: Double spicy Tuna with wasabi roe.  I love spicy tuna, and this unique roll was actually assembled in a “sanwich” style.  Amazing and creative!  The Tuna Mania Roll: Spicy Tuna and avocado, topped with seared Tuna, scallions, Ponzu sauce and teriyaki sauce.  This roll is nice and meaty!  The Needham Roll: Spicy Tuna and tempura flakes, topped with Salmon and Yellowtail, with teriyaki and spicy mayo.  Wow, this one was amazing.  Definitely meaty, but with a nice crunch from the tempura.  (Top right) The No Name Roll: Fried Shrimp and Crab, topped with Tuna, avocado, spicy mayo, and eel sauce.  Mild roll and great for beginner sushi eaters!  Finally we have O-Toro, fatty tuna, sashimi (bottom right).  This is like the Kobe of the Sea.  Basically its tuna, marbled with fat, so it literally melts in your mouth.  My husband and I always ask if it is available when we go out for sushi, and this time we got a yes!  We were ecstatic!  It’s always “market price”, but seriously well worth it!  Add some warm sake to the mix and we had a fun evening, enjoying great food and family.

Monday morning, we headed back to West Virginia.  Only 8 hours drive this time!  My husband and I tried to lay low the rest of the week, with the exception of celebrating our 7 month wedding anniversary, at the Buckley House Restaurant in Marietta, OH.  We actually got married and had our reception there, so it was awesome to reminisce over an amazing dinner.

