Tags

, , , , , ,

We have this amazing pomegranate tree, that I love!  Last season, I was making anything I could from it!  Frozen yogurt, white chocolate bark with pomegranate, and JELLY!  Well, the jelly stash finally ran dry and, luckily for me, I had some leftover pomegranate that we had frozen!  Pomegranate jelly is amazing, just by itself, but I wanted to “dress” it up a bit.  So I added the blueberry and lavender.  While writing this post, I’m actually enjoying some toast with the jelly, and it is an amazing flavor combination!  It’s not just for toast and PB & J anymore!  Microwave some to pour over a bowl of vanilla ice cream, or drizzle over pancakes, waffles, or even cheesecake!  Yum!

 

Lavender Scented, Pomegranate Blueberry Jelly

2 cups juice (pomegranate & blueberry)

3 3/4 cup sugar

1 pouch fruit pectin

2 tsp dried lavender

If you are rendering your own juice straight from the fruit (which is the best) there are several methods.  You could pour the pomegranate in a ziplock bag, and roll over it with a rolling pin, then strain, but in this case, I just used the blender.  The seeds will break apart, but we are going to strain most of them out anyway.  You can blend the pomegranate, blueberry, and lavender all together, but if you want to control the proportion of pomegranate juice to blueberry juice, blend separately (I blended the lavender with the blueberry).  I used about 1 1/2 cups pomegranate and 1/2 cup blueberry.  You may want to strain the juice several times (especially the pomegranate), just to really filter those seeds and bits out.

Once you have your 2 full cups of juice ready, pour it into a pot and stir in the sugar.  This is a lot of sugar!  Even when the sugar is dissolved in the juice, it will be a little thick.  Now, turn up the heat!  Bring the juice and sugar to a rolling boil, while stirring.  Stir in the fruit pectin, squeezing the packet to ensure you get ALL of it.  Return to a boil and count to 60.  Immediately pour into prepared jars.  Cool for 24 hours before sealing.  This recipe filled 4, 1 cup jars with a little extra left over.

