Due to the great response of mystery ingredients, I have to “take a vote”!  It just wouldn’t be fair for me to choose one!  By the way, if you aren’t familiar with some of the ingredients, here is some helpful information:

 

Nopales are a vegetable made from the young cladode (pad) segments of prickly pear, carefully peeled to remove the spines. These fleshy pads are flat and about hand-sized. They can be purple or green. They are particularly common in their native Mexico, where the plant is eaten commonly and regularly forms part of a variety of Mexican cuisine dishes.

 

 

 

The geoduck clam (pronounced “gooe­duck”) is the largest bivalve along Puget Sound and the largest burrowing clam in the world. Also one of the oldest animals in the world, geoducks can live as long as 146 years.

 

Kind of weird, huh?!  Also, I’ve researched availability of geoduck, and if this gets the vote, I may have to postpone the appetizer round.  It’s out of stock, most places I have checked, but I’m willing to wait if you are!

 

Rocky Mountain oysters are bull calf testicles, used as food.  This delicacy is most often deep-fried after being peeled, coated in flour, pepper and salt, and sometimes pounded flat.  

 

You might have already known what these are, but for those out there, who may have thought they were actually oysters… their not.

After gathering this information, I realized the real challenge is to see if I will eat some of these ingredients!  The show is “Chopped” not “Fear Factor”!  Ha Ha!  Either way, I accept!

I’m pretty sure everyone is familiar with chicken gizzards and spam, so now it’s time to vote!

