Tags

, , ,

I’ve never really had dragon fruit before, because the grocery stores, in the small town I am from, never had it!  So since I have moved to California, and I am able to get my hands on just about anything, I’m marking dragon fruit off my bucket list!  It’s such a beautiful fruit, but really has a mild flavor.  It kind of reminds me of a less intense kiwi.

Dragon Fruit Sorbet

2 dragon fruit

1/3 cup lemon juice

1/3 cup water

2 1/2 tbsp sugar

Slice the dragon fruit down the middle and scoop out all the nice flesh, with a spoon.  It’s very soft, so this is easy.  Chop the fruit into small chunks and puree in a food processor, or blender, till smooth.  Dissolve the sugar into the lemon juice and water, by heating it in a saucepan over medium, or in the microwave.  Once it’s cooled down, stir it into the dragon fruit puree and refrigerate for about an hour.  Then pour the mixture in your ice cream maker and follow your manufacturers directions.  Transfer to a bowl, and cover closely with plastic wrap.  Freeze till ready to serve.  Since it’s mostly fruit juice and water, it may harden quite a bit.  Remove from the freezer and allow to sit and soften a few minutes before scooping, or zap it for a couple seconds in the microwave!

 

