Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I love pinterest for many reasons… but mainly because I get inspired!  This is a combination of 2 recipes that inspired me to make one, really amazing dish.  I’m a huge fan of ice cream/sorbet making, and a huge fan of transforming “normal” flavors into palate teasers.  Tomato sorbet, spoke straight to my heart.  I’m also a huge fan of molecular gastronomy.  I’m so amazed at how you can transform food into unimaginable creations through manipulative science.  Balsamic pearls, practically begged me to start my gastronomy career.  I’m pretty sure that tomato and balsamic are like BFFs, so I decided to put them together.  If I ever open a restaurant, this one will be on the menu!

Tomato Sorbet

2 tomatoes

1/2 cup tomato juice

1/2 tsp olive oil

juice of 1/2 a lemon

1/2 tsp tabasco (more if you like it spicy!)

salt to taste

Chop the tomatoes and toss them in a food processor with the remaining ingredients.  Pulse till smooth.  Strain the tomato mixture into a separate bowl, and chill in the refrigerator till your ready to freeze.  Freeze according to your ice cream makers instructions.

Balsamic Pearls

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1 envelope powdered gelatin

olive oil enough to fill a tall glass)

syringe or flavor injector

Pour enough olive oil to fill a tall glass and put in the freezer for at least 30 minutes.  In the meantime, dissolve the gelatin in the vinegar over medium high heat.  Just bring to a boil, then remove from heat.  Fill a syringe, or flavor injector, with the balsamic and gelatin mixture.  Allow to cool a little.  When the oil is well chilled, drop the balsamic mixture into it.  Drop by drop.  The drops should slowly sink to the bottom and the cold oil should set the gelatin.  Once all the balsamic has been dropped in, slowly pour the pearls out into a strainer, then onto paper towels, to soak up excess oil.

Top the tomato sorbet with the balsamic pearls and serve with sliced avocado, and maybe some crumbled feta cheese!  Top with fresh cracked black pepper, and sea salt!

