Tags

, , , ,

I’m trying my hand at gardening this year and I bought a small rosemary plant to add to my garden.  I went out to check on everything, and something had tried to eat it!  But apparently didn’t like it!  There was about an inch of the plant left sticking in the ground, and the rest was lying beside it… so I had to use it while it was still fresh!  My sister in law had made this amazing rosemary bread over Thanksgiving last year, and I knew it would be a perfect way to use up the remnants of my plant!

Ingredients

1 cup warm water (close to 110 degrees)

1 tbsp sugar

2 tsp yeast

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp fresh rosemary

1/2 tsp minced garlic

2 tbsp olive oil

1 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup wheat flour

1 egg + 1 tbsp water

Combine the warm water, sugar and yeast and allow to proof about 5 minutes.  It will get nice and foamy.  Remove the rosemary needles form the stem and roughly chop enough to make 2 tbsp.  In a separate bowl, stir together all the flour, salt, rosemary and garlic.  Then sir in the olive oil and the proofed yeast mixture till a dough forms.  Knead on a floured surface, adding flour, till the dough is smooth and isn’t sticky anymore.  Place in a lightly greased bowl and cover.  Allow an hour for the dough to rise.

Once doubled in size, punch the dough down, and form it into a round loaf.  Place it on a cornmeal dusted parchment paper, cover and allow to rise again for about 45 minutes.  Whisk together the egg and water, and brush onto the bread.  Sprinkle on extra rosemary or garlic powder.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes till the top is golden and when tapped, it sounds hollow.  Cool completely before slicing.

