Tags

, , , , , ,

Sunday’s lunch after church is always a toss up.  My husband like to nap almost immediately after getting home. (he gets to the church early… like 6:00 am early)  So that means that if I didn’t have anything planned, fast food might just happen.  Fortunately, I had a recipe in mind that I was dying to make.  While browsing the lovely world of Pinterest, I came across a photo of beautiful coconut shrimp.  I immediately salivated, because I have a soft spot for fried coconut shrimp!  But wait… this recipe was for baked coconut shrimp!  Could it possible stand up to my expectations?!  It did and it was fabulous!

 

 

Ingredients

1 lb. shrimp

2 tbsp cornstarch

2 egg whites

2 cups flaked coconut

 

Whip the egg whites till peaks form.  Toss the shrimp in the cornstarch to lightly coat.  Then dip the shrimp into the egg whites, and finally, press them into the coconut flakes to cover each side.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 15 minutes or till golden brown.  After about 8 minutes of baking, flip the shrimp so they brown on each side.

Before I share the dipping sauce recipe, I need to tell you about my favorite bottled salad dressing…  You may have read in a previous post that I love Newman’s Own Lite Lime!  I will freely endorse that stuff anytime!  I highly recommend that you get yourself a stash of this stuff because its not just great over a salad, it’s great to add to other recipes, like in this case!  If you don’t have it, a basic vinaigrette will suffice as a substitution, just add a squeeze of lime juice in with it.

Creamy Pineapple Cilantro Dipping Sauce

1/2 cup finely chopped pineapple

2 tbsp flaked coconut

1 tbsp chopped cilantro

2 tbsp rum (coconut flavored would be awesome)

2 1/2 tbsp coconut milk

2 tbsp Newman’s Own Lite Lime

Heat the pineapple, coconut and cilantro in a skillet till warmed through and the coconut starts to brown.  Add the rum and let it fully absorb.  Remove from heat and stir in the coconut milk and Lite Lime dressing.  Serve along side the coconut shrimp with a side of asparagus!

