Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Day 1 of the 7 Day Diet is all fruit!  This was a hard one for me cause I love savory and salty dishes for dinner!  This is definitely on the border of savory and a big bowl of it was surprisingly satisfying come 6:00pm.  Even if your not doing the 7 Day Diet, this would be a great summery appetizer at a barbecue.  Extremely light and refreshing.

Oh, and before you start to say, “Hey, cucumbers are vegetables!”  Do some research!  Cucumbers are scientifically classified as fruits.  Having an enclosed seed and developing from a flower, botanically speaking, cucumbers are classified as fruits, however, they tend to be seen as vegetables, because of their most common preparation.  The cucumber in this salad was the only borderline fruit that I consumed on day 1.  No tomatoes or avocados.  I didn’t push the limits because I’m not sure if the doctor who formulated the diet was speaking scientifically.  So I stuck to tried and true fruits for the rest of the day.  For breakfast, I was happy to have a big bowl full of strawberries!  Around lunch time I had an apple and so much watermelon that I actually got full.  Then I snacked on grapes till dinner.  I’m not gonna say is was a piece of cake to stick to all fruits for an entire day, but I did it!  So I know you can too!

Scroll down to see a recipe that will keep you drinking your water on the fruit day!

Savory Strawberry Salad

6-8 strawberries (chopped)

1 cucumber (peeled and chopped)

1 1/2 tsp balsamic vinegar reduction

drizzle of olive oil

3 fresh basil leaves

salt & pepper

Toss the chopped cucumber with fresh cracked salt and pepper then stir into the strawberries.  Cut the basil leaves into a chiffonade, (I roll my leaves inside each other to form a “tube” then finely run a knife, on a diagonal, through it) and toss through the salad.  Finally, drizzle the olive oil and balsamic reduction over the top.

Water is about the only acceptable beverage during this 7 Day Diet and it’s important to drink it!  I’m not a fan of plain water, so heres a recipe that helped me guzzle the stuff! There is some fruit juice in the recipe, so remember that you can only have this on the fruit days!  Don’t substitute the club soda for tonic water!  Tonic water is usually sweetened.  Sparkling water or club soda is best.  Check the back of the bottle to be sure.

No-jito

2-3 mint leaves (minced)

1/2 tbsp lime juice

club soda

Pour the lime juice and mint leaves into a glass of ice and top with club soda.  Give it a quick stir and enjoy!

