Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Day 2 of the 7 Day Diet is all vegetables and you even get a baked potato for dinner!  This was a much easier day for me.  I love my veggies!  The only trouble I had was at breakfast.  I popped a few grape tomatoes and looked forward to lunch when I made a vegetable stir fry!  I tossed carrots, broccoli, snap peas, celery and onion in a skillet with some olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper.  So simple and so good!  I made the vegetable spirals for dinner along with the potato.  Naturally, when we were shopping for this day of the diet we picked the absolute largest potatoes we could find.  Between my husband and I, we couldn’t even finish them!  Instead of just a plain ‘ol baked potato, try something different.  I boiled the potatoes till slightly tender, then cubed them up and baked them with butter, garlic, rosemary and cayenne.  We totally stuffed ourselves with vegetables, which I guess is the point of the diet!

Vegetable Spirals

1 Chinese eggplant

1 yellow, summer squash

1 zucchini

2 large carrots

salt

olive oil

garlic powder

 Steam the carrots, as close to whole as will fit in the pot, till tender.  Remove and allow to cool.  Using a mandolin, slice the vegetable in thin long strips.  Lay the vegetable strips (except the carrots) on a paper towel and salt them.  This will help to draw out excess water in the veggies.  Blot the veggies with a paper towel.  Roll the vegetables around each other and place into an oiled muffin tin.  It doesn’t matter what order you roll them, but I started with carrot, zucchini, squash then eggplant.  The eggplant was the largest strip and kind of held everything together.  Drizzle the tops with olive oil and sprinkle on seasonings.  Bake at 350 about 15 minutes, or till the veggies are nice and tender.  If your not doing The 7 Day Diet, sprinkle some parmesan cheese and bread crumbs on top before baking!

