Tags

, , , ,

Day 6 of The 7 Day Diet is all the poultry and veggies you want!  Yea!  More meat!  The last few days of this diet are a breeze!  So try to hang in there in the beginning when its hard, because you wont find yourself as tempted to cheat towards the latter end!  I do have to mention that when I got up the morning of day 6, I didn’t feel so well.  I had absolutely no energy, I was a bit shaky and felt like I had a temperature and a rapid heart beat.  I hadn’t been taking a multivitamin or the additional vitamin B that the diet had recommended.  So I popped a couple B 12 and had a big glass of water.  Within about 15 minutes, I was feeling better.  The moral of the story is, DONT FORGET TO TAKE YOUR VITAMINS on this diet.  It will catch up with you at some point!  A handful of baby carrots is a good breakfast because carrots do have a bit of sugar in them that will get you going, or at least hold you over.  Snack on a veggie chip mix!  We picked up a blend of green bean, carrot, taro, and squash from our local health food store.  They are so crispy and almost like snacking on a bag of potato chips.  Once again, just make sure your check all the ingredients!

I made a chicken and vegetable stir-fry for lunch.  I was so full and satisfied!  In order to  achieve some of that asian flavor, swap the olive oil that you’ve been cooking with all week with sesame oil.  You’ll be surprised how much it changes the flavor.  Five spice is a great blend to utilize on stir-fry.  If you don’t have it, try using white pepper, nutmeg, ginger, clove, cayenne, star anise and maybe even cinnamon.  Choose veggies like broccoli, carrots, onion, mushroom, bell pepper, sprouts, and snap peas.

Just incase your getting sick of chicken, change it up and have a turkey leg for dinner!  My husband really enjoyed this.  Change up your spices again to keep things interesting.  I rubbed a chipotle chili powder into the legs with olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  It gave it a nice smokey kick, almost reminiscent of barbecue.  Bake at 350 degrees for about an hour to an hour and a half.  Check the internal temperature with a kitchen thermometer.  When it reads 165 degrees inserted into the thickest part of the leg, its done.  As with chicken legs, if your skin hasn’t crisped up at this point point, just turn the oven to broil and drizzle a bit more olive oil over the legs.  Watch carefully so they don’t char!  Serve with some steamed or grilled veggies.

