Tags

, , ,

This isn’t actually my mom’s meatball recipe.  In fact, I don’t even remember my mom making meatballs for me, and my step mom is a vegetarian… I just like the sound of “Momma’s Meatballs”, and hopefully one day I will be a mom and my kids will beg for them.  Ha ha!  Wishful thinking I suppose.  I’m such a dreamer.  On a more serious note, the meatballs are delicious and every kitchen should be equipped with a fantastic meatball recipe.  Cause who doesn’t love a juicy ball of meat every once in a while?!  I suggest making a big batch of these and freezing the rest for an easy, yet still totally homemade, dinner night.

Momma’s Meatballs

1 hoagie roll (any ‘ol bread will do, I had some Hawaiian sweet rolls that I used)

1 lb. ground beef (I used 80/20. More fat means more a more tender ball)

1 egg, beaten

1 tsp minced garlic

1/4 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp oregano

1/4 cup grated parmesan (I swapped the parm for a horseradish white cheddar that I had on hand)

Tear the bread into small pieces and toast in an oven at 400 degrees till slightly browned.  Pulse the toasted bread in a food processor or blender till fine crumbs form.  You should have about a cup of crumbs.  Toss the crumbs with 1/3 cup water.  Add in the beef, egg, garlic, pepper, cheese and oregano.  Mix together well.  Using an ice cream scoop, form 12 meatballs and set aside to cook (or freeze).

… & Marinara

Blend 2 cans of stewed tomatoes in a blender with 1 tsp minced garlic, 1 tsp oregano and a pinch of sugar.  Set aside.  In a large, deep skillet, heat olive oil and swirl to coat the bottom.  Add the meatballs and cook till browned.  About 5 minutes on medium high heat.  Pour in the tomato mixture, add salt and pepper to taste, and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to simmer and cook about 15 minutes.  During the last minute of cooking, toss in a handful of fresh chopped basil.  Serve over noodles and don’t forget to top with some extra cheese!

 

