Tags

, , , , ,

You know that feeling, when you are out at a restaurant for dinner, and you realize that they’re serving breakfast all day?  It’s like you’ve just hit the jackpot!  Ordering breakfast for dinner is like getting away with something thats normally against the rules.  I love those breakfast for dinner nights!  Now, there’s gotta be a way to squeeze in some room for vegetables, and I don’t mean hash browns… Hmmm… My dad used to make “corn fritters”, which were basically pancakes with corn in them.  As a child, I remember hating them!  Who puts vegetables inside pancakes?!  But boy does life go full circle!  Just when you think you are the total opposite of your parents, you turn into them!  Throwing vegetables into pancakes and such.  Geesh.  Well, I guess I’ll thank my dad for inspiring such a delicious breakfast for dinner.  Oh, and as long as I’m throwing out Thank You’s, I suppose I owe a friend of mine a BIG Thank You for the BIG zucchini she gave to me from her garden!  I’ve made one batch of zucchini chips, these pancakes, and zucchini linguine… all from a single zucchini!  So THANK YOU… You know who you are.

The original recipe that I adapted, is from VeganFoodAddict, and yes, it’s a vegan recipe.  I’m trying to stay away from bleached flour, but I didn’t have any unbleached all purpose… thats why I used the gluten-free all purpose blend.  If you want the entire recipe to be gluten free as well as vegan, just leave out the whole wheat flour and replace it with more of the gluten-free all purpose flour.  If you decide to go this route, you may want to add 1 tsp xanthan gum.  (For textural purposes)

Zucchini Pancakes

1 cup all purpose flour (I used a gluten-free blend)

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 tbsp raw sugar

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups almond milk (+ or – for desired thickness)

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini

Mix together all the dry ingredients.  Then stir in the almond milk and coconut oil.  Add in the zucchini and stir till combined.

I used a small amount of soy margarine to grease my pan before cooking the pancakes, you could also use more coconut oil.  Drop 1/4 cup of the batter into the skillet, on medium heat, at a time.  After about 60-90 seconds, or when you see bubbles forming around the edges, flip the pancake and cook the other side.

Serve warm with agave syrup, and top with coconut whip cream and almonds!  Yum!  Breakfast for dinner!

