Tags

, , , , , , , ,

What to do with all those eggs… This thought goes through my head more often than it should.  Im a sucker for a deal, and so I tend to buy things in bulk, namely eggs.  Strangely enough, on this fine day, I found myself trying to find something to do with an ostrich egg.  I know what your thinking, why in the world would the average person have an ostrich egg in their possession… well I don’t have an answer for you, except maybe that it was an impulse buy.  My husband and I were driving along and saw a produce stand that was selling the eggs, and I just had to have one.  So with no plan, I bought the $30.00 egg and took it home to my kitchen!  As I was shoving it into my fridge I realized I now had the strangest variety of eggs on hand.  Chicken, quail, and ostrich.

 

I drew a plan to make an angel food cake with the whites of the ostrich egg (since they would equal to about 12 chicken eggs) and a grapefruit curd with the yolk.  Upon trying to crack the egg, I broke the yolk.  Ahh!  I was so disappointed!  Fortunately I was able to separate enough yolk for the curd, but the whites were ever so tainted with the streaks of yellow yolk that they were rendered useless.  Thats where the sweet biscuits came in.  They were a delightful substitute for the average angel food cake.

Back to the issue of cracking.  It was recommended that I drill a hole in the top of the egg to start, then pull back some of the surrounding shell.  It’s not like you can just crack these things on a counter top.  The shells are thick.  If you think about how far they drop when they are being laid, it makes sense that they need to be able to withstand a good fall.  The problem with drilling is that the yolk is kind of buoyant in that sea of whites, and so it’s very near the top.  I drilled right through it.  Next time, I will be a bit more careful, but I have a feeling that this is something you just have to practice to get perfect.  Which is unfortunate when the price tag is $30.00 an egg!  Ahh, you live and learn, and then eat something delicious!

Southern Sweet Biscuits

2 cups bread flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

6 tbsp butter

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla

Combine the dry ingredients, in the bowl of a kitchen aid mixer, with the whisk attachment.  Drop the butter in a tablespoon at a time and whisk till crumbly.  Mix the vanilla with the buttermilk.  Replace the whisk with the paddle attachment and pour the buttermilk in with the flour mixture.  Mix until just combined.  (don’t over mix)  Scrape out onto a floured surface and pat out to a 1/2 inch thick.  Use a cup or a biscuit cutter to cut the dough into rounds, making sure to press straight down, no twisting or turning.  This will ensure that the biscuits will rise straight up when baking.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes.  If you like those crusty edges, place the biscuits about an inch apart, but if you like them fluffy, place them closer together, almost touching.

Grapefruit Curd

6 egg yolks (or 1 ostrich egg yolk 🙂 )

1 cup sugar

1/3 cup fresh grapefruit juice

2 tbsp grapefruit zest

8 tbsp butter

Whisk the egg yolks and sugar till pale and fluffy.  Whisk in the juice and zest.  Cook the mixture in a double boiler (a bowl sitting over a pot of simmering water, see photo), stirring constantly, till its nice and thick.  This will take about 10 minutes.  Remove from the heat and stir in 1 tablespoon of butter at a time till it’s all melted in.  Cover with plastic wrap, touching the surface of the curd (so it doesn’t develop a “skin”) and chill till your ready to serve.  It will thicken as it cools.

